Unrealistic Chance Encounters #2

I’m just going to jump right into this one.

Number 2: The Bus Encounter

I love the bus.

No kidding. Totally love it.

Unless the person sitting next to me crosses my personal bubble, then I don’t like the bus.

I think one of the reasons I like the bus so much is because I love to read, and it’s a great time to read if you don’t get motion sickness.

It’s legitimately hard to read when there’s vomit covering the words.

Usually I’m reading something that has to do with theology, or Game of Thrones, which is basically the same thing.

Anyway, sometimes, when I’m reading I think, “I wonder if someone is going to see me reading Orthodoxy by G.K. Chesterton and be amazed at my beautiful brain and obvious spiritual thirst.”

That would be great.  Imagine, you’re sitting on the bus, book in hand, underlining a fantastic paragraph where G.K. is explaining the paradox within Christianity between the optimistic view of the universe and the pessimistic view of the world when a Single Christian Guy sits next to you and says “Don’t you love how Timothy Keller draws on G.K. Chesterton’s idea of the euphoria of the happy ending in his new book Kings Cross?”

I would die.

I mean I might not die, but I would probably pass out.

Your dream scenario might be a little different, like you could be reading “Captivating” and he could sit down and mention how he just finished “Wild and Heart.”

Or, you’re reading “Stuff Christian’s Like” and he would talk about how much he loves Jonathan Acuff and that he follows him on Twitter.

I mean … pick your poison.

Unfortunately, this hasn’t happened to me yet.  It could be because no one talks on the bus but I have a few other thoughts as to why:

  1. Most people, Christian or not, have no idea who G.K. Chesterton is.
  2. I’m assuming when I read Orthodoxy by G.K. Chesterton I look like I’m in pain.  I mean hey, that book is tough.  My brain feels like it’s been pounded with a meat tenderizer after every sitting.  But pain is not an attractive look on me …
  3. I look overly focused and like I don’t want to be bothered.  Because I don’t want to be bothered.  Seriously … I’m trying to figure out what the heck G.K. is saying.
  4. Only women or married men ride my bus.  (Maybe … should have put that one first …)

Just because it’s not happening to me, doesn’t mean it can’t happen to you.  But really? It’s not likely.

G.K. Chesterton
G.K. Chesterton – What a stud. (Photo credit: In Toon With the World)
4 thoughts on “Unrealistic Chance Encounters #2

  1. OK so I’ve just found your blog.
    I’m 20, single, always been single and have never been on a date.
    Phew.
    Can’t believe I just said that.
    Oh, and I don’t have a purity ring . . . so really there’s not an actual reason other than I’m kind of a hermit.
    Anyway, thank you for your blog, I feel like you are me (except that you actually date and seem to kind of have a life and I’m also assuming you are lucky enough to not be in the Bible belt? Seems like men actually ask women out wherever you’re from).

    1. I’m not in the Bible Belt! I feel like if I did live there I’d have LOTS more material so sometimes it’s actually disappointing … But not really …
      If it makes you feel better I go on a ton of first dates, only a few second dates and then it just ends, so I’ve been single forever too. And I have a damn purity ring and I’m conflicted about it.

Leave a Reply

