Miranda Presley is My Hero

The most frequent dating advice my Mother gives me is:

“Claire, it wouldn’t kill you to smile once and a while.”

Sure.

I mean, I know I don’t smile a lot at strangers.  I mean, who does?  We live in Minnesota.  I’m not some California hippy.  (sorry if you live in California, I couldn’t think of another state that I would associate with the word hippy … so sorry about that too.)

But I also think that I don’t smile because I’m a strong powerful and independent woman.  Sort of like Miranda Presley.

Image

However, she was in a movie called The Devil Wears Prada. Doesn’t EXACTLY provoke warm thoughts.

Well it actually kind of does …

Gah! Never mind!  You know what I mean!

She’s not a nice lady!

Geez you guys …

Anyway, I tried to follow my Mother’s advice tonight and I smiled at a gentleman that I thought was reasonably good looking.  He immediately looked afraid and ran away.

Bummer.

However, I can’t say that I blame him.

Firstly, I live in Minnesota, like I said before and smiling at strangers is weird.  My Mom’s from North Dakota, so I understand the confusion.  I’ve tried to explain to her that in our culture the appropriate way to acknowledge a stranger is to pretend that they don’t exist.  Cold is nice, Minnesota nice.

Secondly, my “hey, what’s up, followed by a seductive head nod” smile actually looks like I’m incredibly constipated and my body is going into uncontrollable spasms.

NOT ideal for picking up the guys …

Hey, I never said my singleness wasn’t self-inflicted.

Leave a Reply

