Why You Shouldn’t Date an Octogenarian

Lately, I’ve found myself asking “how old is too old?”

Image
I think this relationship is going to last for a long time 🙂
Or at least until his next cardiac arrest.

Do you know what I’m talking about?

Like where is the line between “He could be my Dad,” and “he’s my baby-daddy.”

Sorry.

That was really awkward.

I know it.

I am fully aware that lots of you are uncomfortable by my use of the phrase “baby-daddy.”

We just need to move on because it worked so well in that sentence!

If you don’t know what that means, please, do yourself a favor and DO NOT look it up on UrbanDictionary.com.  You’re just going to be disturbed.  Just go ask one of your friends …

Anyway, there is a rule I learned that all men know.

Yeah.

They have a secret rule.

And I know it.

I can’t tell you who I got this information from but his name starts with “My” and ends with “Dad.”

Are you ready?

Seriously, you need to be ready, because this could be too hot to handle.

It’s called “Half plus seven”

WHAT?!

I just blew your mind.

What it means, is that you take the guys age, divide it by two and add seven, and that’s the minimum age he can date without it being creepy.  (This of course is super debatable and up for argument.)

Urban Dictionary even wrote an article about it.  I looked it over and it seems okay – find it here.

So you may ask why you need to know this.

Because knowledge is power ladies … knowledge is power.

You also may be wondering, “how young is too young?”

The answer?

You shouldn’t be asking the question.

If you’re asking the question that means it has the potential to be creepy so just avoid the situation.  That really goes for the how old is too old as well … so really just forget everything I said.

3 thoughts on “Why You Shouldn’t Date an Octogenarian

  1. What about the question “How young is too young?” Does the half plus 7 work for women? Or is there a double standard…. 😉

    1. Haha! I figured people would ask that question. I said that if you’re asking the question in general it just get’s creepy. Right? Maybe as long as your relationship could avoid being on a reality show you should be okay? No extreme cougars for this girl …

  2. I think it’s more of a guideline than a rule. Just cause one can does not mean one does. To quote Stan Lee – with great power comes great responsibility (nerd cred). Look at it this way, if we men are “late bloomers” in the maturity department and you ladies are “fast risers”, doesn’t this rule help level the playing field?

    No way there is a double standard. As proof I submit Demi Moore, J Lo, Jenny McCarthy, Susan Sarandon and my aunt.

Leave a Reply

