Pending Title: Lonely. Or Something Equally as Depressing.

I’m currently watching The Bachelorette.

Alone.

This folks, is the definition of what some people would refer to as a “low point.”

I did attempt to lure, really anyone to my house to help me with my computer.

My desperate pleas for help went unanswered.

No white knight with amazing skills on a Mac computer tonight.

Shoot.

Being alone, and watching the bachelorette got me thinking 1) that I hate being alone and 2) that I hate the bachelorette.  As the second is self explanatory, lets focus on the first.

This immediately brings to mind a Backstreet Boys song.

Anyone else?

Yes? No? “Show Me The Meaning of Being Lonely?”

I just watched 1 minute of the music video.

I forgot how depressing it was!

Gah … don’t watch it.  (I’ll put it at the bottom of this post though if you do want to have middle school / high school flashbacks.)

At one point in the song the luscious melodies and tantalizing harmonies of BSB combine to produce the lyric: “there is something missing in my heart.”

It’s great.

However, I’ve always wondered about that phrase.  Technically, since it is a guys’ group, they would feel something missing in their rib cage, right? Get it? Adam lost a rib so that God could make Eve?

Ah … biblical humor.

I probably enjoyed that enough for all of us.

Anyway, being lonely.  It happens.

I promise, that’s as real as I’m going to get.

Or not.

Last night at church the pastor shared a story about this woman who had lost her husband.  She ended up telling her bible study, a year after his death, that she was really lonely.  They said she had God.

Implying that should be enough.

Yeah, no.

Okay, I said I wasn’t going to get real, but I will.

God says, “It’s not good for man to be alone.”  Then he goes on to talk about making a suitable helper fit for the dude (aka Adam) and all that jazz. I won’t bore you with details because at this point I’m no one’s suitable helper.

Amazing idea!

Blog name change!

“Suitable Helpers Anonymous.”

Just kidding, that doesn’t make any sense.

Also, I’ve got $100 that Chris is about to get kicked off the Bachelorette.

Just kidding it was Zach.

Good thing that bet wasn’t for real.

Also, I still am having computer issues.

One thought on “Pending Title: Lonely. Or Something Equally as Depressing.

  1. I am a 26 year old christian girl who works in full time youth ministry with people getting married and dating all around me…including past students. I was thinking the other night there has to be a blog about christian girls dating or lack thereof. I just wanted to say thanks! I’ve thought about writing some about my experiences because I thought maybe that will help me process this time in my life. Reading your thoughts about “singleness” (I even hate the word) has helped a little.
    Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

