Guest Post: How To Make Good Life Choices …

http://normalfreeloved.wordpress.com/ Hi Friends! I am a current sophomore at Georgia College and State University where I study Outdoor Education in a small/random town in the middle of Georgia. I love to adventure, make people laugh, longboard, and most of all spend time with Jesus in the rawness and simplicity of the outdoors. If you were to ever want to find me, I'm probably either in the ice cream aisle at Walmart or the library (just kidding about that last one…I wish I studied more). In the future, I hope to work/start my own Outdoor Ministry for women! Facebook friend me because Im all about meeting new people! Oh and duh, I am a single Christian girl.
http://normalfreeloved.wordpress.com/
Hi Friends! My name is Beth Anne and I am a current sophomore at Georgia College and State University where I study Outdoor Education in a small/random town in the middle of Georgia. I love to adventure, make people laugh, longboard, and most of all spend time with Jesus in the rawness and simplicity of the outdoors. If you were to ever want to find me, I’m probably either in the ice cream aisle at Walmart or the library (just kidding about that last one…I wish I studied more). In the future, I hope to work/start my own Outdoor Ministry for women! Facebook friend me because Im all about meeting new people! Oh and duh, I am a single Christian girl.

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about our intentions.

You know, why we do stuff.

On a day to day basis, how many decisions do we make?

A ton.

We make decisions about what we wear, what we eat, what we do, how we act. This is normal, right? Eve made decisions in the garden (some notably poor ones, but decisions non the less).

After a huge season of learning patience and having what looked like no summer plans, God totally answered my prayers and gave me two incredible job offers!  One in Colorado and one in Wisconsin.

Although I didn’t know much about either company, I did know that at one company I would get to work with mostly guys (who were older and probably very outdoorsy).  The other, would be a position where I would counsel and develop relationships with other college girls.  Both are super cool companies run by people who love Jesus.  Either choice would have led to an awesome summer.

Suffice it to say, I had an important decision to make.

So, naturally, I bought myself some Baskin Robbins ice cream and then sat down to make a pro/con list.

Guess what was at the top of my “pro” list?

“Working with cute boys”.

And guess what job I chose?

That one.

And do you know why I chose that particular job?

Because of that first bullet point.

I’m currently smacking myself in the forehead.

After making my decision, I called a couple of friends. As I was explaining my thinking process behind my job choice to one of my best friends, I found myself talking more about the job that I had turned down then the job I had chosen.

That night, I sat in bed looking at the old jobs website and picturing myself there instead of the job I chose. Clearly, I was uneasy.

The next morning, after some prayer, I changed to the other job. I’m confident in the decision that I made and I know that the Lord has great plans for me there!

So, our stories moral?

I made a really big life decision based mainly off the fact that I wanted to meet and work with cute boys all summer.

That seems silly, but thankfully, God changed my heart.

However, it got me thinking…how many decisions am I making solely to get attention from guys?

So many!

Even when I was deciding to write this blog post, I thought “maybe my future husband will read this article and fall in love with me and find me on Facebook and ask me out and we will get married”.

What?!?

First of all, if a boy is reading articles off of a blog called Single Christian Girls, then I’m not totally sure he’s the one for me. Second of all, let’s talk about how quickly my mind jumped from nothing to marriage…

The conclusions girls jump to can be scary sometimes.

So I’m calling out to all my single sistas to say that it’s totally okay to want a boyfriend. And it’s probably even okay to make some decisions based off of wanting to be noticed by a special someone. But don’t be like me.  If you’re planning your life with the sole purpose of trying to meet your future husband, you might not make the best choices, and you’ll probably be let down.

What are your intentions even now?

It’s highly doubtful that you’ll find Mr. Right by stalking your crush and then “ending up” two tables away from him at lunch, hoping he’ll notice you (sadly, I’m speaking from experience here).

Trust God and make decisions based off of what YOU want rather than what someone else (a boy) may want.  It’s incredibly empowering.  Like choosing a summer job that will surround you with entirely girls and no potential husbands to be had.

Stalking

6 thoughts on “Guest Post: How To Make Good Life Choices …

    1. Nothing! It means that the boy at least has a good sense of humor! I think Beth Anne was implying that if you troll the internet ALL THE TIME, you might not be her outdoorsy-adventurer type.

      But overall, I agree with this post. I found myself going to grad school events and mixers all the time because “Maybe I’ll meet a guy there,” and while I do think we all need to venture into the breathing world, I often felt like it was a “failed” night afterwards when (undoubtedly) there were no SCG(uys) there instead of appreciating it for what it was.

Leave a Reply

