On Being Tall.

The other day I was rocking my favorite pair of booties . . .

Let’s just take a pause and ask God to bless the human being that invented the bootie.

You could literally be wearing a muumuu with a cat embroidered on the front, throw on a pair of booties and then suddenly it’s like you walked right out of New York Fashion week and someone’s pulling you aside asking you if your outfit is from the newest designer whose name you can’t pronounce.

Genius.

Anyway, my booties make me 6’2”.

That’s real.

I’m not kidding.

My new favorite person, who is also super tall, asked me how I do it.

Confused, I said I put my shoes on my feet and then I walk around.

Realizing that I’m an idiot, she clarified her question and asked, “How do you wear high heels since you’re already so tall?”

The answer?

I don’t always.

I remember being incredibly self-conscious about how tall I was in high school. Then, one day, by the grace of God, I had an encounter with a woman who, I am not kidding you, looked identical to Meryl Streep in the Devil Wears Prada. I was wearing a beautiful dress, but I had paired it with ballet flats and she asked why I wasn’t wearing heals instead.

I told her that since I was tall, the laws of nature dictate that I shouldn’t.

She told me that was stupid.

The next day I went out and bought my first pair of stilettos.

It was glorious.

And I’ve never turned back.

Kind of . . .

Sometimes, I hate being tall.

A few weeks ago I was talking to a friend about a guy that I liked. As per usual girl conversation, we were over-analyzing the crap out of that whole deal until she finally said. “Do you think he goes for cute and little?”

Crap.

Yes. Of course he does.

Sometimes there are perks to looking like an Amazonian woman. Other times, there aren’t. Like if a guy has a legitimate concern that if your date doesn’t go well you might rip out both of his arms.

That’s fair. I get that. I understand how you might be emotionally attached to your limbs. Makes a ton of sense.

In fact, I frequently say I’m not interested in certain people because I could “break their arms in half with my pinkie.”

This suddenly got so violent and I don’t know why . . .

It’s probably because I was just researching “Amazonian Women” on Wikipedia.

Anyway, I was bummed. Because I got to thinking, maybe if I were just a little shorter, I wouldn’t be writing this blog anymore.

Luckily I had a come-to-Jesus-moment.

Guess what verse I read?

The fricken fearfully and wonderfully made one.

Obviously.

(Psalm 139 in case you’re wondering)

I had to listen to Jesus tell me that he made me this way, and he doesn’t make mistakes. I had to hear him say that he knit me together in my mother’s womb and decided to make me the height of the average American male instead of the height of the average American female.

I had to hear him say that looks don’t matter. I had to hear him ask me, “Why do you care so much?” And then I had to think about why do I care so much? No matter what I look like, I have unlimited worth and value, because of who created me.

Huh . . .

There isn’t anything I can do about being tall, except for having my legs amputated, which sounds painful, so I’m going to maybe not do that.

Instead, I’m going attempt to embrace who I am, and who God created me to be.

And I’m wearing my booties to church.

What I wore to church.  LOOK AT THE BOOTIES!!!!!!!!!!!
What I wore to church. LOOK AT THE BOOTIES!!!!!!!!!!!

What’s your thing? What physical thing do you get hung up on about yourself? I want to know! How do you remind yourself of your value and worth?

38 thoughts on “On Being Tall.

  1. This post made my Monday. You’re so great… Aaand freaking hilarious! I miss living close to you!

    My “thing” is my back… You know that saga. I spent a lot of years asking God why He messed up when he made me. Guess what He told me? The same thing He told you- I am fearfully and wonderfully made. And that this thorn in my side is something He is working for my good and His glory, even when I can’t imagine how. What freedom and comfort and peace!

    I love you and your Amazonian self… And those booties.

    1. Oh man girl! I miss living close to you too! You’re so wise, and from someone who has seen you go through stuff with your back, I’ve seen God use it to inspire me and other people around you. It’s pointing people to how awesome he is! Love you girl! See you in Texas soon?

  2. So, seeing a new post this morning made me quite giddy. Loved it. I suppose my physical hang up is that I’m not your typical “macho guy”. I’m 5′ 8″ (or somewhere around there, I don’t remember…I’m short, ya’all get it), and that I’m not built like a Rams linebacker. If given the choice between the dude who looks like a Rams linebacker, and the dude who looks the wind will blow and snap him in half, chances are girls are gonna go for the muscular handsom guy. That honestly doesn’t bother me as much as how emotional of a guy I am, but that is a different comment for a different time =P I just remind myself that Christ loves me for me, that I mean something to Him, and that He wants me. And being wanted is way better than being needed.

    1. 5’8″ is not short! :0 I’m 5′ 6 1/2″, and I would give anything to be 5′ 7″. 5′ 8″ sounds fine. I met a lot of slightly-taller-than-me guys in college, and none of them struck me as being particularly short. Also, I always figured if I went out with a guy who was much taller, my neck would get sore from looking up at him all the time. Just sayin’. Everyone has different preferences. Please don’t let this get you down. 🙂

    2. One more thing: my brother is 5′ 9″, and he is thin – I’m talking BEANPOLE, and he has a wonderful girlfriend that my family loves. Sorry, I don’t mean to spam you with replies; it’s just that I dealt with body image issues for so long, it’s hard to see anyone else deal with it.

  3. Since I have become disabled, I have put on lots of weight. The medications don’t help, and neither does not being able to exercise. I have to remind myself, often, that Jesus is more concerned with what is inside, not what is outside.

  4. This was great! 🙂 I always enjoy your posts – glad to have you back.

    A few years ago at my church’s Bible club (AWANA), I was helping out with the first and second graders and somehow we got around to the topic of eye color (I think it was because we were coloring faces). I told one of the little girls that I wished I had different color eyes. Everyone in south Texas is Hispanic and you see dark hair and brown eyes wherever you go; I wished my eyes were blue. The pastor’s wife overheard this and told me about Amy Carmichael and how she prayed for blue eyes when she was little. Later, when she went to India, her brown eyes turned out to be a blessing because they helped her to blend in with the population. Since then, I’ve been perfectly fine with my brown eyes. 🙂

  5. Thank you for this! It’s nice knowing I’m not alone!!! I’m 6 feet without heels. I rarely wear heels because I tower over most guys I know. When I do pull out the wedges I feel empowered, kind of like an Amazonian women woman, just embracing my height. But it’s hard to do that most days. And it’s really hard to see tall men with really short girls!!

  6. LOVE the booties!!!

    My biggest struggle is that I’ve dealt with chronic illness since childhood. I’m ok with being single in a lot of ways, but to be honest, I guess I’ve figured it’s just the way it is – that nobody wants to deal with all this, I can’t have kids, no one would want to marry into my medical bills, etc, etc. Sometimes I just feel like damaged goods. But Jesus reminded me recently that He loves me so much that He wanted to come dwell within me, and share His very own life with me. My King adores me, even if every other man shows no interest. Hard as it is some days, I can rest in that.

    1. “And lest I should be exalted above measure through the abundance of the revelations, there was given to me a thorn in the flesh, the messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I should be exalted above measure. For this thing I besought the Lord thrice, that it might depart from me. And he said unto me, ‘My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness’. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.” – 2 Corinthians 12: 7-10

      This passage was brought to mind today, because of things I’ve been experiencing. I remembered also the verse where Jesus said “The servant is not greater than his master”. Just remember you get to experience a close, personal thing with Christ, even in sorrow.

      1. Oh yes, all so true! I had originally put something in there like “my weakness keeps me drawing my life from the Vine and not depending on my own strength.” I thought it was getting too long so I took it out. Oh, that Christ would have first place and all the honor!

  7. Um. Love! And mine would be that lovely chunky cellulite that inhabits the upper part of my middle eastern thighs (and makes me look like a penguin in skinny jeans). Anyhow, I used to be self-conscious about it with bathing suits (you know…take the shorts off .8562 seconds before I run into the water). Then, when I went to my friend’s gym, I won their draw for $1500 of cellulite reduction services, which I had entered as a joke. I stopped complaining and being self-conscious about it that day. I realized I’m very healthy, I’m the way that God made me, I want to stand for being comfortable in the way God made me, and my thighs weed out all the superficial men looking for the perfect trophy wife anyways–Ain’t nobody got time for that. Also, I am 5’1″ and I am reading your blog. Amputations are not the magic bullet.

  8. I’m only 5’8″, but that’s still decently taller than the average Australian woman. The effect is exaggerated in my life because many of my friends are Asian and very short, and there certainly have been times when I’ve felt quite conspicuous for not being short and skinny.

    One of my short and skinny Asian-Canadian friends likes to match-make her friends, and I’ve heard her make remarks to the effect that the man has to be taller than the woman. No! It’s not true! Honestly, I would prefer to date a man taller than me, but it’s definitely not a deal-breaker if the man is shorter than me. Not even close to being a deal-breaker.

    But yes, as has been said here by others, I’ve noticed that men tend to go for much shorter women. I guess that’s just the way it is! But in my weaker moments I do wonder if my above-average height will keep me out of the marriage market since most men seem to prefer short women. Oh well. I’m not seriously worried about that. And I just remember that everybody wants what she doesn’t have. Women have said to me, “I wish I were nice and tall like you!” And I think, “Why?” Even as a child I was conscious of my height (I grew fast and young) and I just wanted to be average.

    I think that very tall women (5’10” and over) should definitely wear heels! I even read some advice somewhere that went something like this: “Wear flats if you are short and heels if you are tall.”

  9. I love reading your posts! This one immediately made me think of my little sister, she is 6’2″ and then obviously even taller when she wears any sort of heel. She bought her first pair of booties this year with a little heel on them. Everything you said is exactly the same things I’ve heard her say, she also is finally coming to terms with her height 🙂

  10. Haha! This is my life. I’m 6’2″ with no shoes on, but maybe I should look into getting some heels. 6’5″, here I come! 🙂

  11. I’m 5′ 10″ so I feel the tall girl struggle!! I own 600 pairs of flats and secretly obsess over wedges… Maybe someday I’ll actually buy a pair! I have dated guys taller than me and shorter, and it’s honestly not even close to being an important thing. Just looking for the right one, regardless of height.

  12. so, i was on pinterest in my large amount of free time, and i saw your blog. of course, i read all of them in one sitting. why wouldn’t i do that? unfortunately, i’m 5’2 and hate wearing heels. i want to love them, but my ‘hips don’t lie’ and i feel like i’m on my way to the club.. i just can’t.

    as shallow as this might sound, my hips hate me. i have a small waist and every flowy shirt i buy doesn’t “flow” over my hips like yours would. lovin those booties doe

  13. Those booties are fierce! Great post Claire!

    I’m only 5’3″, but I’m really independent, athletically built, professional woman. I work with all (taken) guys. And, I can and do hang with the guys on the court… So, I really don’t get much attention from single guys. At. All. I think they’re somewhat scared of me… I can split my own firewood – that’s terrifying right??

    I definitely fall into wishing I was more dainty (short != dainty) and a whole lot less independent – because, well because… However, what I truly struggle with is defining myself as a woman – it’s sort of an “if a tree falls in the forest” type conundrum. It’s weird, I never thought I needed/wanted/looked for (??) validation from guys… I guess I do, and it smarts that I couldn’t turn a single guy’s head to save my soul!

    If I dwell on it, I can get really down. It’s a fight to remember that God made me who I am and His is the validation that counts – not a guy’s. I also have to remind myself that my self-esteem has to be centered in my relationship with God and come from within – not from outside. However, it’s a pendulum and I keep swinging… So, timely post Claire.

    Thanks
    Tara

    P.s. However wrongly, I’ve completely been guilty of the “I could break you” opinions of certain guys, despite my shortness 🙂

  14. I randomly stumbled upon your blog today at work (but shh it’s a secret!). I love it! I’m 23 and have never been on a date or even asked out on one for that matter and it’s really encouraging to see other sisters in Christ being open, honest, and humorous with something that truthfully does bother us to varying degrees (I’m just assuming since that’s the topic of the blog and all).

    I’ve struggled with low self worth and esteem all my life as an overweight girl. A few months ago I had enough of the lies I was listening to and decided to write out promises that I knew I could hold to with the Holy Spirit at work and I paired each promise with a verse. 1. I promise to pursue holiness by honoring God with my body and how I treat it (I Corinthians 6:19-20). 2. I promise to know and believe that my looks do not dictate my worth. I am invaluable to God so much so that He died the death I deserve (Ephesians 2:4-9). 3. I promise to glorify God in how I view my body. He is sovereign and doesn’t mess up (Psalm 139:13-16). (Word for word off my wall…no joke. So you can imagine the crying that insued when I read almost the same words here.)

    As I was reading this post it made me think of those promises and the truth behind them. I think people sometimes get so used to the lies that they start to believe them and that’s when we fight. We grab our sword (the bible!) and we stab it until it’s just a bunch of goo that nobody wants the be around.

    Awesome stuff. Stay encouraged, friends! We have a great God who does great things 🙂

  15. Thank you writing this. I can somewhat relate myself to you. Im 5’8 and for Asian that’s pretty tall. Recentlt this week I was depressed for I have a classmate of mine who would always call me ugly. Im thankful that I read this post and I was reminded by the verse that I was wonderfully made by God and I have to remind myself often that God is not concerned what is outside but what is inaide

  16. Im only about 5’7” but i’ve always found myself feeling really tall growing up and this post is too relatable. Keep doin’ you

  17. I too am an Amazonian woman 5’9 1/2. I love heels, but I’m so embarrassed of my height sometimes. So I generally only wear them to church. I wish I were brave enough to wear them casually!

  18. hi there….i am just browsing the net and suddenly i found your blog….yeah sometimes i feel not “liking” myself because of some personal issues…but tnx to the bible verse you’ve shared it remind me that God created us in His own image and with that its an assurance that our physical appearance is not that too important….

    waiting for your next blog….

  19. I still struggle with the same issue. Of course I know heels will go better with certain outfits, and I buy them and they stay in my closet. I think I may be about the same height as you. This guy I know ask me how tall I am every time we go out to grab a bite. It’s like he forgets and he can’t believe how tall I am and he’s not short around 6 ft and I am close to 5’10”. That kind of still upsets me somewhat. One more thing to continue praying about that I will accept me for who I am.

  20. YES! I can totally relate! I looooooove booties, not too tall not too short….PERFECT! I’m pretty tall too and at first I hated it (because all the cute guys were short) during in college but now I’m totally ok with it because I am perfectly made by my creator! Love your posts!

    Sincerely,
    Chloe

  21. Heya!!! I found your blog the other day and I love it. Oh and greetings from Sydney, Australia.

    Oh my gosh i have the exact same dilemma. Porblem is most people at my church are quite short so when i wear heels i feel like a tall tree or something LOL! But yes I’ve had to learn to embrace it. I guess because there are some outfits that can only have justice if heels are worn with them…

    Thank you for your honesty and humor,
    Selina

  22. I’m 5’8 which is super tall for an Asian girl. One Sunday I decided to do an experiment. I stood by the side of the door and waited for all the people to leave the santury after service. I saw the top of everybody’s heads! There were a guy or two who were taller but had girlfriend/ wife lingering at their arms.
    Personally I like tall guys. I told my friends and they said I’m shallow. So now I tell them my chiropractor says looking down all the time is bad for my neck and that’s why I need a tall guy. Lol.
    Hence that’s why I’m still single.
    Too prideful. Too picky.
    And I’m turning 36 soon.
    I want to say to the 20’s try harder. Best time I observed is 31 to 33. After that, the pool of available men only decreases when everybody matches up. And these men are still single for a reason too. The world is harsher to women over 35. In my church, there are quite a few never married single women over 40’s and 50’s. To me they seemed like if you’re stuck in that state, you are stuck and stop trying.
    All I can say is: screw them. I’m wearing my heels. If you’re too short and can’t talk to me, then don’t.

Leave a Reply

