Raise Your Hand If You Were Single Over Christmas!

Google recently reported that the most common search between Thanksgiving and Christmas behind “how much should I spend on an engagement ring,” is “why am I still single.”

Just kidding, that’s not a thing, but my Google search statistics are up which means people had to explain to that one extended family member for the 6th Christmas in a row why a great person like them is still single, just as you overhear one of your cousins, who’s 4 years younger than you, announce that she’s pregnant for the 2nd time!

How exciting.

What joy.

What bliss.

Merry fricken Christmas.

Via Pinterest
Via Pinterest

Next thing you know, you’re waste deep in eggnog singing a version of Mariah Carey’s “All I Want For Christmas Is You,” that sounds so pitiful it’s making angels weep and terrifying all of your cousins under age 8.

This is all hypothetical of course.

Humor me if you will, I am about to defend your overly zealous family member who is inordinately concerned with your relationships status.

Why?

Because I will be that person. Heck, I am that person.

What can I say? I love love.

Your relatives and I just want you to be happy.

What your relatives might not tell you, but what I will remind you of, is that your relationship status doesn’t determine your value.

My favorite book is “You are Special” by Max Lucado. It’s a children’s book so don’t judge.

I’m barely literate people, let’s be real.

Anyway, it’s about these little wooden people called Wemmicks who spend their days sticking stars and dots on one another.

Why they can’t find more economically productive things to do is beyond me.

I digress.

Basically these little Wemmicks slap stars on other Wemmicks that they think are awesome and slap dots on the suckers they think are losers. Punchinello, our main character, is a Wemmick with a lot of dots. He’s not very good at being a wooden person. His paint is chipped, he stutters, he’s kind of clumsy and he probably doesn’t have a little wooden girlfriend.

Without ruining the whole story, one day he figures out that the only person’s opinion who matters is the opinion of the carpenter who made him, and he thinks Punchinello is pretty special.

Then, some of the dots stop sticking.

Intentionally or unintentionally people can make us feel like our worth and value depends on our relationship status. When that happens, we’re giving them power to give us dots (or even stars).

People don’t have that power, only God does. Only God’s opinion matters and he thinks you’re pretty special.

Think about that for a second.

You, right now, this second, are special.

You could be in a vegetative coma for the rest of your life and God would still think that you have an incalculable amount of worth and value.

Welcome back to all of the overachievers and perfectionists who just passed out.

You are special.

Without even trying.

Just because God made you.

If you want to read more about your worth and value as a single person, check out Shauna Niequist post called “You Are Significant With or Without A Significant Other.

It’s the bomb.com and I want her to be my best friend.

Shauna, if you read this, send me an email in my contact me section and we can get this friendship started.

I also promise I haven’t stalked you …

Sort of.

4 thoughts on “Raise Your Hand If You Were Single Over Christmas!

  1. Thank you for sending. This was my 1st email from you and I enjoyed it very much. I am 59 years old still waiting for God to send the man he has for me. Lots of bad choices I made along the way, but they were not Christian men…..
    My girlfriend 57 years old who has waited faithfully
    just met a Christian man, this guy is 67 yrs old…..had so many people pray for a wife for him. He met my girlfriend, they got engaged in 12/2014, married 1/1/15.
    They knew it was God. My point, whatever age, know you are special,
    and God has a good plan for you if you wait, trust, and are faithful to Him! Embrace your singleness. Better to be single then stuck in a bad marriage for years….I know.

  2. Thank you so much for this blog!! The Internet world is full of generic unhelpful blanket statements to single women like “just don’t focus on it!! God will bring you a husband in no time!” im literally groaning can we please retire that phrase? Now that I’m rambling, I want to thank you for starting this blog and just being real. It means more than you know. Keep up the good work, yo.

Leave a Reply

